FullFrame VS Crop “the digital world”

I am only reviewing from my perspective on what gear i’ve had or still have..It all started off with debating between a full frame and a crop sensor.

The Confusion set in..

Photoshoot / 7D ^ With Canon 85L1.2.

I settled on a 7D after a month of awaiting specific lens adapters for the lenses I had from old film cameras. Now 80% of the lenses I already had were old school manual lenses ranging from Takumar, Ziess Contax, Nikon, Pentax. F1.0, F1.2’s, M42’s. Once establishing an arsenal of adapters to mount these lenses onto the 7D the shooting tests began. In my opinion they can be bought at good prices and if paired correctly you can get outstanding image quality that of the top end Red ringed L lens line up in auto focus from Canon. On a long weekend I chose to do a short video night time lapse test.  Once editing the doom set in finding dead pixels in the sensor. I posted the video up for others to view asking for some opinions off photograph threads. My mind wasn’t playing games. The next day camera body was taken back for a return + replace. In the bigger scheme of things I should have just gone full frame and paid the extra for upgrade at the time. It took me a few months of use to understand that I wanted the auto focus lens line up.

Next step. I had realized at this point that if I went the route of full frame (5DMII), I may have saved myself some money in buying my lens line up. Ouch.. So up for sale went a majority of the lenses and 7D body. I had to get rid of some of the lenses due to the possibly of the full frame mirror hitting the back of some of the manual lenses.

Spreadsheet on which lenses are trouble.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AglpVjClId27cEJsSzZmQnpOYndjdGlGeGFqSkp2UVE&hl=en#gid=0

7D ^ M42 Takumar Selfie.

Okay so days later the 7D & a good chunk of my lenses went to good homes. I was living in Vancouver, BC & at the time I purchased a body only from a local store. I was told the 5DMii body was new. Home I went loaded software and just for #$@t + giggles looked up the shutter actuation’s. This new camera was used so the EOS program stated? I was sitting with my dream camera supposed to be new with more than 12000 images shot through it? Stunned I was!

The store gave me the run around they didn’t have any other cameras in at the time to swap out. They had my cash and I was now told to wait.. I took it upon myself to go to another store front they had in Surrey BC.  I was pretty pissed off at this point and driving on my dime at the time a VR6 Golf at a high rate of speed heading from Vancouver to Surrey just about colliding with someones broken off muffler that was the size of the front of my car. It had seemed I was on one of the most unlucky streaks.

Back to my feet:

I finally got a new.. Yes a unused full frame 5DMii. Now the reading commenced late into every night on what others were using for lenses and styles of shooting. I had a line up in my mind. Question was what did I want to spend? What did I want to shoot?

My first big buy was a used 85L 1.2. Found it used from a baby portrait photographer and she was selling off all her gear so I picked it up for a great deal.

In my bag at that time was a handful of 50mm f1.4/ f1.8 USM/ some 50mm f1.2 manual focus, 85L f1.2, 70-200 f4,

Tokina 11-16 f2.8, 15mm fisheye, Sigma 12-24mm. Since then I have weeded items I don’t use these days, my theory is if its not used in a year sell it.

I have had no regrets even though this step from crop to full frame was a serious pain in the bum.

Strobes: Canon speedlite 600ex-rt,  A few Alien Bees 1600’s 640 WS, Stands, Beauty dishes assorted sizes Alien Bee ARB800 Ringflash. Back drops Black and White.

Conclusion:

The 7D has noise in images if you don’t know how to use the camera. Pushing a few stops + and – will sort out issues in some testing. I loved the 7D for the filming rates.

Canon EOS 7D Video Image size, Frame rates, and encoding.

The Canon 7D’s all-new CMOS sensor records high definition video at a maximum resolution of 1,920 x 1,080 pixels with a 16:9 aspect ratio — what’s sometimes referred to as “Full HD”, or 1080i/1080p.Both NTSC modes of 23.976 or 29.97 frames/second and PAL modes of 23.976 or 25 frames/second are available at full resolution. The full resolution can be downsampled in-camera to produce 1,280 x 720 (720p) resolution movies, with the NTSC mode using 59.94 frames/second, and the PAL mode offering 50 frames/second. Finally, a standard definition 4:3 aspect ratio mode captures 640×480 pixel (VGA) movies, again with 59.94 frames/second in NTSC or 50 frames/second in PAL. The numerous different frame rates match various broadcast television formats etc., removing the need to transcode to the intended output frame rate after capture.

Individual movie clips captured by the Canon EOS 7D are limited to a maximum of twelve minutes in the high definition 1080p and 720p modes, or 24 minutes in the standard definition VGA mode. (Canon didn’t give a reason for this, but perhaps it’s a matter of power consumption and sensor heating: We noticed that the body can get rather warm after an extended period of video shooting.) The Canon 7D records its movies as MOV files using AVC / H.264 compression, which is much more conservative of memory card space than the Motion JPEG format used by some cameras, and avoids some of the severe image quality loss suffered by AVCHD cameras when faced with significant amounts of change in image content between frames. (AVCHD uses a subset of the H.264 standard, among other things mandating a limit in recording bandwidth, which translates into a lesser ability to convey rapidly-changing detail.) The choice of H.264 comes with the requirement of greater processing power, though — not only from the camera when recording, but also when playing back or editing videos. The more sophisticated encoding used in the H.264 standard requires quite a bit of processor power to pull it apart and put it back together again, so frame-accurate editing of H.264 requires a fast processor and capable editing program.

Canon EOS 5DMii

  • 22.3MP Full-Frame CMOS Sensor
  • 3.2″ Clear View High Resolution LCD
  • DIGIC 5+ Image Processor
  • 61-Point High Density AF
  • Full HD 1080/30p and 720/60p Formats
  • Built-In HDR and Multiple Exposure Modes
  • Extended ISO Range (50-102400)
  • Up to 6.0 FPS Continuous Mode
  • Dual CF and SD Memory Card Slots
  • Durable Magnesium-Alloy Construction

Video (as of v2.0.4 firmware)

Outputs

File on your card.

Type C mini HDMI connector.

3.5mm stereo jack for analog audio and video.

File Format

.MOV format, MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 variable bit rate video compression.

Image Format

1920 x 1080 (16:9 HD) at 29.97, 25.00 and 23.976 fps, which are the correct rates for teleproduction. The menus erroneously list 29.97 and 23.976 as 30 fps and 24 fps.

640 x 480 pixels (VGA) at 29.97 and 25.00 fps, the correct rates for teleproduction. The menus erroneously list 29.97 as 30 fps. Warning: broadcast TV is not 640×480; that’s a computer standard. NTSC broadcast TV, when digitized, is 720 x 483 non-square pixels at 59.94 interlaced fields per second, not 30 or 29.97 sequential frames per second.

Data Rates

1920 x 1080: about 330 MB per minute, for all frame rates.

640 x 480: about 165 MB per minute, all frame rates.

Maximum take duration

The maximum length of a take is 4 GB.

The file sizes vary with subject detail, and Canon says 4GB will get you about 12 minutes in HD or 24 minutes of regular definition.

If you have less detail in your subject, you can run as long as 29 minutes and 59 seconds if you can do it without hitting 4GB first.

The 5D Mark II gets hot as you shoot video. Page 13 of the USA users guide (CT1-1028-002, January 2010) says, and I quote, that the 5D Mark II can cause “slight skin burns.”

Audio with video

Linear PCM audio, uncompressed.

A mono mic is built in right below the “5D” label on the front, and there’s an external 3.5mm stereo input.

Manual level adjustment, with meters, is available in the menu system.

Conclusion:

Full frame was a must by me it just worked for the matter of lens line up I needed. If i kept the Crop I would have needed 4-6 more lenses to finalize my bag of goods. Most hobbyists will not need a full frame camera if they end up getting one they have money. Honestly I loved the Crop I had. Would have been nice to have both and dedicate the 7D to an only film rig.

In the photo-world you can find forum threads miles long on this subject it all comes down to the user really.

EhBomb test from jay on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

